## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Independent School District No. 820 Sebeka, MN 56477

Reorganizational Meeting – January 13, 2025

The reorganizational meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. by Chairman Eric Nelson. Members present were Jeannie Arthur, Nate Erickson, Kayla Frame, Rodney Huttunen, Cheri Kangas, Eric Nelson, and JoAnn Olson. Also present were Superintendent Dave Kerkvliet; Principal Amie Westberg; Business Manager Holly Paulson; staff member Jerome Meyer and Review Messenger Reporter Dave Hanson.

The board members opened the meeting by reciting the School Board Oath of Office.

Eric Nelson called for nominations for Chairperson.

A motion was made by Rodney Huttunen and seconded by Kayla Frame to nominate Eric Nelson as Chairperson. After no other nominations for Chairperson were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by JoAnn Olson and seconded by Nate Erickson to nominate Kayla Frame for Vice-Chair. After no other nominations for Vice-Chair were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Kayla Frame and seconded by Eric Nelson to nominate JoAnn Olson for Clerk. After no other nominations were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Cheri Kangas and seconded by Kayla Frame to nominate Nate Erickson as Treasurer. After no other nominations were presented, motion ceased and motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Huttunen seconded to hold the regular monthly board meetings on the second Monday of each month with the exception of the October meeting which will be held on the second Tuesday due to the Columbus Day Holiday with meeting times at 5:30 p.m. for auditing of bills and 6:00 p.m. for the regular monthly meeting and designated the District Office as the location for the board meetings and the Media Center if a second location is needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Huttunen moved, Nelson seconded to set the Board per diem at \$70.00 per meeting with \$130.00 for a day-long meeting or in-service; the Board mileage reimbursement at \$.50 cents per mile; the Board meal reimbursement at the actual cost of the meal and to set the following stipends for the School Board officers: Board Chair stipend at \$700 per year; \$300 per year for Clerk; \$125 per year for Treasurer; and \$125 per year for the Vice-Chair. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Kangas seconded to set the mileage reimbursement for employees at \$ .60 cents per mile and employee meal reimbursement at \$10.00 for breakfast, \$12.00 for lunch and \$18.00 for dinner. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Arthur seconded to name the Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka as the official depository for the school. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Olson seconded to name MN Trust as the official cash management services and to authorize Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson, and David Kerkvliet/Superintendent to handle the electronic funds transfers. Motion carried unanimously.

Huttuen moved, Arthur seconded to name the Review Messenger as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Arthur seconded to authorize signatures of Eric Nelson, JoAnn Olson and Nate Erickson for Payroll and Computer and Handpayable bills and to authorize the signature of Nate Erickson for the Amazon Business account. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Kangas seconded to authorize Eric Nelson, Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson and David Kerkvliet/Superintendent to purchase and sell investments. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes of the Board of Education January 13, 2025 Page two

Erickson moved, Frame seconded to approve the law firms of Pemberton Law Firm and Kennedy & Graven as legal counsel for the school district. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Arthur seconded to designate the superintendent, principal and board chair as the persons to contact legal counsel if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Kangas moved, Frame seconded to approve the following Board committee and representative assignments for

2025: A. Community Education Kayla Frame
B. District 24 MSHSL Eric Nelson
C. Sourcewell Representative Assembly Eric Nelson

D. Freshwater Education District
 E. Facilities & Grounds, Technology
 Rodney Huttunen, Kayla Frame (alternate)
 Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen, Cheri Kangas

F. Food Advisory Jeannie Arthur, Kayla Frame

G. MREA Representative Rodney Huttunen

H. Negotiations & Meet & Confer Rodney Huttunen, Cheri Kangas, JoAnn Olson

Jeannie Arthur (alternate), Nate Erickson (alternate), Kayla Frame (alternate), Eric Nelson (alternate)

I. Policy Nate Erickson, Kayla Frame, Cheri Kangas

J. Superintendent Evaluation Full Board

K. Legislative Liaison
 L. Wadena County Collaborative
 M. Health & Safety Advisory
 Rodney Huttunen, Eric Nelson (alternate)
 Cheri Kangas, Nate Erickson (alternate)
 Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson (alternate)

N. Pairing Committee

Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen,
JoAnn Olson, Kayla Frame (alternate)

O. Budget Committee Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen, Eric Nelson

P. Long Range Planning Full Board

Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Kangas seconded to adjourn the reorganizational meeting at 6:33 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

JoAnn Olson Clerk of the School Board