## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Independent School District No. 820 Sebeka, MN 56477

## Reorganizational Meeting – January 8, 2024

The reorganizational meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chairman Eric Nelson. Members present were Nate Erickson, Charles Funk, Rodney Huttunen, Cheri Kangas, Eric Nelson, and JoAnn Olson. Absent Kayla Frame. Also present were Superintendent Dave Kerkvliet; Principal Amie Westberg; Business Manager Holly Paulson; staff member Melissa Koch and Review Messenger Reporter Dave Hanson.

The board members opened the meeting by reciting the School Board Oath of Office.

Eric Nelson called for nominations for Chairperson.

A motion was made by Charles Funk and seconded by Nate Erickson to nominate Eric Nelson as Chairperson. After no other nominations for Chairperson were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Rodney Huttunen and seconded by Eric Nelson to nominate Charles Funk for Vice-Chair. After no other nominations for Vice-Chair were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Nate Erickson and seconded by Charles Funk to nominate JoAnn Olson for Clerk. After no other nominations were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by JoAnn Olson and seconded by Cheri Kangas to nominate Nate Erickson as Treasurer. After no other nominations were presented, motion ceased and motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Erickson seconded to approve the election of officers as follows: Eric Nelson as Chairperson, Charles Funk as Vice Chairperson, JoAnn Olson as Clerk and Nate Erickson as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Huttunen seconded to hold the regular board meetings on the second Monday of each month with the exception of the October meeting which will be held on the second Tuesday due to the Columbus Day Holiday the second and the November meeting which will also be held on the second Tuesday due to the MREA conference. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Kangas seconded to approve to set the time of the board meetings at 6:00 p.m. with the auditing of bills at 5:30 p.m. and to designate the fourth Thursday of each month as a date for a second board meeting if one is needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Funk seconded to designate the District Office as the location to hold the board meetings and the Media Center as a second location if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Olson seconded to approve the dates, times and locations of the board meetings as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Huttunen seconded to set the Board per diem at \$70.00 per meeting with \$130.00 for a day-long meeting or in-service; the Board mileage reimbursement at \$ .50 cents per mile; the Board meal reimbursement at the actual cost of the meal and to set the following stipends for the School Board officers: Board Chair stipend at \$700 per year; \$300 per year for Clerk; \$125 per year for Treasurer; and \$125 per year for the Vice-Chair. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Funk seconded to set the mileage reimbursement for employees at \$ .50 cents per mile and employee meal reimbursement the same as for 2022-2023 at \$10.00 for breakfast, \$11.00 for lunch and \$16.00 for dinner. Motion carried unanimously.

Huttunen moved, Kangas seconded to name the Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka as the official depository for the school. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes of the Board of Education January 8, 2024 Page two

2024:

Olson moved, Erickson seconded to name MN Trust as the official cash management services and to authorize Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson, and David Kerkyliet/Superintendent to handle the electronic funds transfers. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Olson seconded to name the Review Messenger as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Kangas seconded to authorize signatures of Eric Nelson, JoAnn Olson and Nate Erickson for Payroll and Computer and Handpayable bills and to authorize the signature of Nate Erickson for the Amazon Business account. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Funk seconded to authorize Eric Nelson, Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson and David Kerkvliet/Superintendent to purchase and sell investments. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Erickson seconded to approve the law firms of Pemberton Law Firm and Kennedy & Graven as legal counsel for the school district. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Erickson seconded to designate the superintendent, principal and board chair as the persons to contact legal counsel if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Frame seconded to approve the following Board committee and representative assignments for

A. Community Education Kavla Frame B. District 24 MSHSL Eric Nelson C. Sourcewell Representative Assembly Eric Nelson D. Freshwater Education District Charles Funk, Kayla Frame (alternate) E. Facilities & Grounds, Technology Nate Erickson, Rod Huttunen, Cheri Kangas F. Food Advisorv Kavla Frame, JoAnn G. MREA Representative Rod Huttunen H. Negotiations & Meet & Confer Charles Funk, Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson Nate Erickson (alternate), Kayla Frame (alternate) Cheri Kangas (alternate), Eric Nelson (alternate) Nate Erickson, Kavla Frame, Cheri Kangas I. Policy J. Superintendent Evaluation Full Board K. Legislative Liaison Charles Funk L. Wadena County Collaborative Cheri Kangas, Nate Erickson (alternate) M. Health & Safety Advisory Rod Huttunen, JoAnn Olson (alternate) N. Pairing Committee Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson, Kayla Frame (alternate) O. Budget Committee Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen, Eric Nelson P. Long Range Planning Full Board Motion carried unanimously.

Huttunen moved, Olson seconded to adjourn the reorganizational meeting at 6:28 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

> JoAnn Olson Clerk of the School Board