MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Independent School District No. 820 Sebeka, MN 56477

Reorganizational Meeting – January 9, 2023

The reorganizational meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chairman Rodney Huttunen. Members present were Nate Erickson, Kayla Frame, Charles Funk, Rodney Huttunen, Cheri Kangas, Eric Nelson, and JoAnn Olson. Also present were Superintendent Dave Fjeldheim; Principal Amie Westberg; Business Manager Holly Paulson; staff member Melissa Koch and Review Messenger Reporter Tim Bloomquist.

The board members opened the meeting by reciting the School Board Oath of Office.

Rodney Huttunen called for nominations for Chairperson.

A motion was made by JoAnn Olson to nominate Eric Nelson as Chairperson. After no other nominations for Chairperson were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Rodney Huttunen to nominate Charles Funk for Vice-Chair. After no other nominations for Vice-Chair were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Charles Funk to nominate JoAnn Olson for Clerk. After no other nominations were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Charles Funk to nominate Nate Erickson as Treasurer. After no other nominations were presented, motion ceased and motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Huttunen seconded to approve the election of officers as follows: Eric Nelson as Chairperson, Charles Funk as Vice Chairperson, JoAnn Olson as Clerk and Nate Erickson as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Frame seconded to hold the regular board meetings on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. with the auditing of bills at 5:30 p.m. for the months of September through May with the exception of the October meeting which will be held on the second Tuesday due to the Columbus Day Holiday and 6:30 p.m. for auditing of bills and regular meeting at 7:00 p.m. for the months of June through August and designate the fourth Thursday of each month as a date for a second board meeting if one is needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Erickson seconded to designate the District Office as the location to hold the board meetings and the Media Center as a second location if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Funk seconded to set the Board per diem at \$70.00 per meeting with \$130.00 for a day-long meeting or in-service. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Erickson seconded to set the Board mileage reimbursement at \$.50 cents per mile. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Huttunen seconded to set the Board meal reimbursement at the actual cost of the meal. Motion carried unanimously.

Huttunen moved, Olson seconded to set the following stipends for the School Board officers: Board Chair stipend at \$700 per year; \$300 per year for Clerk; \$125 per year for Treasurer; and \$125 per year for the Vice-Chair. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Erickson seconded to set the mileage reimbursement for employees at \$.50 cents per mile. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Huttunen seconded to set the employee meal reimbursement at \$9.00 for breakfast, \$11.00 for lunch and \$16.00 for dinner. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes of the Board of Education January 9, 2023 Page two

Frame moved, Olson seconded to name the Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka as the official depository for the school. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Kangas seconded to name MN Trust as the official cash management services and to authorize Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson, and David Fjeldheim/Superintendent to handle the electronic funds transfers. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Kangas seconded to name the Review Messenger as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Huttunen moved, Funk seconded to authorize signatures of Eric Nelson, JoAnn Olson and Nate Erickson for Payroll and Computer and Handpayable bills. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Frame seconded to authorize Nate Erickson, Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson and David Fjeldheim/Superintendent to purchase and sell investments. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Olson seconded to approve the law firms of Pemberton Law Firm and Kennedy & Graven as legal counsel for the school district. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Olson seconded to designate the superintendent, principal and board chair as the persons to contact legal counsel if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Frame seconded to approve the following Board committee and representative assignments for

2023: A. Community Education Kayla Frame B. District 24 MSHSL Eric Nelson

C. Sourcewell Representative Assembly

Eric Nelson

D. Freshwater Education District Charles Funk, Kayla Frame (alternate)
E. Facilities & Grounds, Technology Nate Erickson, Rod Huttunen, Cheri Kangas

F. Food Advisory Kayla Frame, Cheri Kangas

G. MREA Representative Rod Huttunen

H. Negotiations & Meet & Confer Charles Funk, Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson

Nate Erickson (alternate), Kayla Frame (alternate) Cheri Kangas (alternate), Eric Nelson (alternate)

I. Policy Nate Erickson, Kayla Frame, JoAnn Olson

J. Superintendent Evaluation Full BoardK. Legislative Liaison Charles Funk

L. Wadena County Collaborative
M. Health & Safety Advisory
N. Pairing Committee

JoAnn Olson, Nate Erickson (alternate)
Rod Huttunen, JoAnn Olson (alternate)
Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen,
LoAnn Olson, Verda Eroma (alternate)

JoAnn Olson, Kayla Frame (alternate)

O. Budget Committee Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen, Eric Nelson

P. Long Range Planning Full Board

Motion carried unanimously.

Huttunen moved, Erickson seconded to adjourn the reorganizational meeting at 6:30 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

JoAnn Olson

Clerk of the School Board