## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Independent School District No. 820 Sebeka, MN 56477

## Reorganizational Meeting – January 10, 2022

The reorganizational meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chairman Rodney Huttunen. Members present were Nate Erickson, Kayla Frame, Charles Funk, Rodney Huttunen, Russell Johnson, Eric Nelson, and JoAnn Olson. Also present were Superintendent Dave Fjeldheim; Business Manager Holly Paulson; staff member Dave Kerkvliet; and Review Messenger Reporter Roy Rudderforth.

The board members opened the meeting by reciting the School Board Oath of Office.

Rodney Huttunen called for nominations for Chairperson.

A motion was made by Russell Johnson to nominate Rodney Huttunen as Chairperson. After no other nominations for Chairperson were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Eric Nelson to nominate Charles Funk for Vice-Chair. After no other nominations for Vice-Chair were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Nate Erickson to nominate JoAnn Olson for Clerk. After no other nominations were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Eric Nelson to nominate Russell Johnson as Treasurer. After no other nominations were presented, motion ceased and motion carried unanimously.

Johnson moved, Nelson seconded to hold the regular board meetings on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. with the auditing of bills at 5:30 p.m. for the months of September through May with the exception of the October meeting which will be held on the second Tuesday due to the Columbus Day Holiday and 6:30 p.m. for auditing of bills and regular meeting at 7:00 p.m. for the months of June through August and designate the fourth Thursday of each month as a date for a second board meeting if one is needed; and to designate the District Office as the location to hold the board meetings and the Media Center as a second location if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Nelson seconded to set the Board per diem at \$70.00 per meeting with \$130.00 for a day-long meeting or in-service. Erickson, Frame, Funk, Huttunen, Johnson, and Nelson voted in favor; Olson opposed. Therefore, motion carried on a 6-1 vote.

Erickson moved, Funk seconded to set the Board mileage reimbursement at \$ .50 cents per mile. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Nelson seconded to set the Board meal reimbursement at the actual cost of the meal. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Erickson seconded to set the following stipends for the School Board officers: Board Chair stipend at \$700 per year; \$300 per year for Clerk; \$125 per year for Treasurer; and \$125 per year for the Vice-Chair. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Frame seconded to set the mileage reimbursement for employees at \$ .50 cents per mile and to set the employee meal reimbursement at \$9.00 for breakfast; \$10.00 for lunch; and \$15.00 for dinner. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Nelson seconded to name the Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka as the official depository for the school. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Olson seconded to name Mid Central Federal Savings and Loan as the official Weiss Scholarship Depository. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes of the Board of Education January 10, 2022 Page two

Funk moved, Nelson seconded to name MN Trust as the official cash management services and to authorize Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson, and David Fjeldheim to handle the electronic funds transfers. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Johnson seconded to name the Review Messenger as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Erickson seconded to authorize signatures of Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson and Russell Johnson for Payroll and Computer and Handpayable bills. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Funk seconded to authorize Russell Johnson, Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson and David Fjeldheim to purchase and sell investments. Motion carried unanimously.

Johnson moved, Nelson seconded to approve the law firms of Pemberton Law Firm and Kennedy & Graven as legal counsel for the school district. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Frame seconded to designate the superintendent, principal and board chair as the persons to contact legal counsel if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Nelson seconded to approve the following Board committee and representative assignments for

Kavla Frame

Eric Nelson

Eric Nelson

Rod Huttunen

Full Board

Charles Funk

Charles Funk, Kayla Frame (alternate)

Kayla Frame, JoAnn Olson

Nate Erickson, Rod Huttunen, Russell Johnson

Charles Funk, Russell Johnson, JoAnn Olson Nate Erickson (alternate), Kayla Frame (alternate) Rodney Huttunen (alternate), Eric Nelson (alternate)

Nate Erickson, Kayla Frame, JoAnn Olson

Nate Erickson, Charles Funk, Eric Nelson

JoAnn Olson, Nate Erickson (alternate)

Rod Huttunen, JoAnn Olson (alternate)

Rodney Huttunen, Russell Johnson, Eric Nelson

Nate Erickson, Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson, Kavla Frame (alternate)

- 2022:
- A. Community Education
- B. District 24 MSHSL
- C. Sourcewell Representative Assembly
- D. Freshwater Education District
- E. Facilities & Grounds, Technology
- F. Food Advisory
- G. MREA Representative
- H. Negotiations & Meet & Confer

I. Policy

- J. Superintendent Evaluation
- K. Superintendent Sub Committee
- L. Legislative Liaison
- M. Wadena County Collaborative
- N. Health & Safety Advisory
- O. Pairing Committee
- P. Budget Committee
- Q. Long Range Planning

Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Nelson seconded to adjourn the reorganizational meeting at 6:26 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

JoAnn Olson Clerk of the School Board

Full Board