## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Independent School District No. 820 Sebeka, MN 56477

Reorganizational Meeting – January 11, 2021

The reorganizational meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Charles Funk. Members present were Nathan Erickson, Kayla Frame, Charles Funk, Russell Johnson, Eric Nelson, and JoAnn Olson. Absent Rodney Huttunen. Also present were Superintendent Dave Fjeldheim; Principal Amie Westberg; Business Manager Holly Paulson; staff members Ruth Johnson and Dave Kerkvliet; and Review Messenger Reporter Roy Rudderforth.

The board members opened the meeting by reciting the School Board Oath of Office.

Charles Funk called for nominations for Chairperson.

A motion was made by Russell Johnson to nominate Rodney Huttunen as Chairperson. After no other nominations for Chairperson were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Eric Nelson to nominate Charles Funk for Vice-Chair. After no other nominations for Vice-Chair were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Nate Erickson to nominate JoAnn Olson for Clerk. After no other nominations were presented, nominations ceased and motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Nate Erickson to nominate Russell Johnson as Treasurer. After no other nominations were presented, motion ceased and motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Nelson seconded to hold the regular board meetings on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. with the auditing of bills at 5:30 p.m. for the months of September through May and 6:30 p.m. for auditing of bills and regular meeting at 7:00 p.m. for the months of June through August and designate the fourth Thursday of each month as a date for a second board meeting if one is needed; designate the District Office as the location to hold the board meetings and the Media Center as a second location if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Nelson seconded to make an amendment to hold the October board meeting on the second Tuesday of the month instead of the second Monday due to the Columbus Day Holiday. Motion carried unanimously.

Nelson moved, Olson seconded to set the Board per diem at \$65.00 per meeting with \$120.00 for a day-long meeting or in-service; the Board mileage reimbursement at \$.50 cents per mile; and the Board meal reimbursement at the actual cost of the meal. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Frame seconded to set the following stipends for the School Board officers: Board Chair stipend at \$700 per year; \$300 per year for Clerk; \$125 per year for Treasurer; and \$125 per year for the Vice-Chair. Motion carried unanimously.

Johnson moved, Olson seconded to set the mileage reimbursement for employees at \$ .50 cents per mile and to set the employee meal reimbursement at \$9.00 for breakfast; \$10.00 for lunch; and \$15.00 for dinner. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Nelson seconded to name the Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka as the official depository for the school. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Frame seconded to name Mid Central Federal Savings and Loan as the official Weiss Scholarship Depository. Motion carried unanimously.

Nelson moved, Johnson seconded to name MN Trust as the official cash management services. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Erickson seconded to authorize Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson, and David Fjeldheim to handle the electronic funds transfers. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes of the Board of Education January 11, 2021 Page two

Johnson moved, Nelson seconded to name the Review Messenger as the official newspaper. Motion carried unanimously.

Erickson moved, Frame seconded to authorize signatures of Rodney Huttunen, JoAnn Olson and Russell Johnson for Payroll and Computer and Handpayable bills. Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Erickson seconded to authorize the signatures of Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson and David Fjeldheim for the Activity Account. Motion carried unanimously.

Nelson moved, Johnson seconded to rescind the motion of authorizing signatures for the Activity Account since the Activity Account was moved into the General Fund. Motion carried unanimously.

Frame moved, Nelson seconded to authorize Russell Johnson, Laura Kimball, Holly Paulson and David Fjeldheim to purchase and sell investments. Motion carried unanimously.

Johnson moved, Erickson seconded to approve the law firms of Pederson & Pederson PA, Pemberton Law Firm, and Kennedy & Graven as legal counsel for the school district. Motion carried unanimously.

Funk moved, Frame seconded to designate the superintendent, principal and board chair as the persons to contact legal counsel if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

Johnson moved, Frame seconded to approve the following Board committee and representative assignments for

	to approve the roll	o 11118 20 0001 00 0 0 11111111
2020:	A. Community Education	Kayla Frame
	B. District 24 MSHSL	Eric Nelson
	C. Sourcewell Representative Assembly	Eric Nelson
	D. Freshwater Education District	Charles Funk

Rod Huttunen (alternate)

Nate Erickson E. Facilities & Grounds, Technology

Rod Huttunen Russell Johnson Kayla Frame

F. Food Advisory JoAnn Olson G. MREA Representative Rod Huttunen H. Negotiations & Meet & Confer Charles Funk

Russell Johnson JoAnn Olson

Nate Erickson (alternate) Kayla Frame (alternate) Rodney Huttunen (alternate) Eric Nelson (alternate)

I. Policy Nate Erickson Kayla Frame

JoAnn Olson Full Board

J. Superintendent Evaluation K. Superintendent Sub Committee Nate Erickson Charles Funk

Eric Nelson Charles Funk

L. Legislative Liaison M. Wadena County Collaborative JoAnn Olson

Nate Erickson (alternate)

N. Health & Safety Advisory Rod Huttunen

JoAnn Olson (alternate)

Minutes of the Board of Education January 11, 2021 Page three

O. Pairing Committee Nate Erickson

Rodney Huttunen JoAnn Olson

P. Budget Committee Kayla Frame (alternate)
Rodney Huttunen

Russell Johnson Eric Nelson

Q. Long Range Planning Full Board

Motion carried unanimously.

Olson moved, Erickson seconded to adjourn the reorganizational meeting at 6:30 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

JoAnn Olson Clerk of the School Board